asimplechord: (trying to kill you with his mind)
From an Out interview re: slash fanfiction.

In Nasa/Trek: Popular Science and Sex in America, academic Constance Penley asks the obvious question: Why are women fans so alienated from their own bodies that they can write erotic fantasies only in relation to a non-female body? She surmises that perhaps men’s bodies are simply easier to fantasize with because they aren’t the legal, moral, religious battleground that women’s bodies are.

While I know organic sexual preferences are neither elective nor politically motivated, I couldn’t help but feel, as a heterosexual female, that there was something self-assassinating and a little bit politically disturbing about the M/M fiction I read.



I haven't read Penley's work before, and am not clear why this should be the direction the journalist takes this article.

But I have to ask... does anyone ask a straight man why he's so alienated from his body if he gets off on f/f porn? REALLY?


Once again, main-stream media makes fandom look stupid.

>>>>>:/

This entry was originally posted at http://favoritemistake.dreamwidth.org/6410.html.
asimplechord: (B.I.T.C.H.)
I make plenty of writing mistakes. But here are three things that made me close Firefox last night and return to a book instead of reading fanfic.



1. Appall is a verb. Not a noun.

2. Your =/= you're. I can understand making that mistake in a text or a quick email. But in a title and multi-chapter fic, with that same mistake in EVERY post? Really?

3. I admit that I love commas. (I care about the Oxford comma, and Vampire Weekend can take a leap off a hipster, indie cliff - overrated.) But really. Direct address commas are your friend. Consider:

"I am not Bob."

"I am not, Bob."

That comma changes the meaning. Learn them. Use them. Love them.
asimplechord: (The Bloody Baron)
Because it's been pretty wretched.

My day got completely fucked when the sample elevator for the gamma radiation source got stuck. One experiment completely ruined, three more down the drain if it's not fixed by Tuesday. Which, what repair company is going to mess with engine parts that are down inside a cesium source? NRGH.

So I rearranged things, and I spent an hour discussing experiments with my boss before he left (for a two-week trip to France), and I'm trying to figure out this stupid cell/colony sorting software that is NOT intuitively obvious and came with a manual written by someone who is a software engineer, not a scientific end-user (re: not user-friendly), getting more and more frustrated that each time I ran the same data file I got different answers.

I finally shut things down and headed out to the train platform, only to get stuck in the rain. Without an umbrella. Awesome.

You know, I still don't understand: storms like this happen in Houston all the time, but people STILL don't know how to drive in them. ?

WHY YES, IT'S AN EXCELLENT IDEA TO GO FROM 65 MPH TO 25 MPH WITH NO WARNING BECAUSE OF SOME RAIN. REALLY. AND TO DRIVE AT TWILIGHT IN MISTY RAIN WITHOUT HEADLIGHTS. VERY SAFE.

So I was in a FINE mood by the time I got home.

But. My copy of War was here when I arrived. And the internets gave me this. )

I am ordering a pizza so I don't have to cook, and I'm opening some wine or some cider. A lot of wine and/or cider.

Next week is going to be better, right? RIGHT.
asimplechord: (science!)
I had the TV on while I exercised last night. I don't care what's on, generally; I can't actually watch something that's going to require attention to plot or dialogue. My iPod is usually cranked. I just like having something to look at. TBS was airing Twister.

One line of dialogue (well, it's one line, but it sets up the rivalry between the storm-chasing groups, so really it's an implicit assumption that colors the entire film) really irks me: the comment that Bill makes about Jonas getting a corporate sponsor, not being in tornado/weather research for love of science, but for money. In which I rant )


Now that I'm done ranting...

My fandom participation quotient is still low, but I did write a couple of drabbles for the [livejournal.com profile] we_pimpin drabble party post last week and this week.

Here, here, here, and here. Gen, gen(ish) with undertones, Brad/Nate, and Brad/Ray, respectively.

War Ray Coffee is the motherfucking answer. I'm going to go refill my mug.
asimplechord: (bones' favorite words)
Laurell K. Hamilton, author of the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter books, has her own thoughts on the Twilight phenomenon. “Stephenie Meyer has come and she’s taken the genre that I sort of pioneered.[...]"

Um. Seriously? She pioneered? Because Le Fanu didn't create Carmilla, a seductive creature of the night, back in the mid-19th century? Obviously Stoker's Dracula was not an influence either. Or Coleridge's Geraldine, who was likely the basis for Carmilla.

And let's not acknowledge Stephen King's Salem's Lot or Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles.

Let's not point out that Hamilton's grasp of plot, grammar, syntax, and logic are utterly nonexistent.

Uh-huh. Obviously, she created the vampire/supernatural creature genre of literature. OBVSLY.

How can she see around her monstrously huge ego?
asimplechord: (wtf)
MY DISMAY CANNOT BE TEXTUALLY RENDERED, EVEN WITH CAPSLOCK AND KEYBOARD MASHING.

Random House is (are?) a bunch of idiots.

WTFE. As Galleycat points out, it's okay for Anne Rice to write about Jesus, but not for someone to write fiction about Muhammad?

This book "might incite acts of violence"?

LIKE THE BIBLE HAS FOR CENTURIES, YOU MEAN?

I don't see publishers stopping the printing of IT, though.
asimplechord: (don't do that)
This story is touching, really it is. But you know? I find it EXTREMELY disturbing that Verizon can retrieve a "deleted" voicemail message from three years ago from their archive.

Maybe it's just me. Maybe I'm just paranoid. But I don't want my voice mails and calls in an archive for years. I'd rather they were deleted when I pressed the # button and deleted them from my phone.

I especially don't want them in an archive for a carrier that might very well be the one with a Quantico circuit set up WITHOUT A SEARCH WARRANT to give the US government access to ALL of their customers' voice, text, and internet usage data.

That is a violation of privacy. It is a violation of the Constitution. Where's my right to not be unlawfully searched and seized?

I don't care how many Signing Statements the Shrub signs, I don't care if people think it's OK to give up privacy to catch "terrorists". How many have been caught, tried, and convicted, I ask?

It is WRONG, and I'm so tired of being made to feel like I'm being "unpatriotic" and "leftist liberal" and "Communist" (all things I've been called by friends and colleagues) when I object.

And if I hear "Well, if you're not doing anything wrong you shouldn't have anything to worry about or hide" ONE MORE TIME, I'll scream. That is not the point.
asimplechord: (colored solutions)
The other night we watched The Fountain. I enjoyed the way the narratives were threaded together and the special effects. Plus, Hugh Jackman and Rachel Weiss = easy on the eyes. But there was one moment when I had to scream with laughter.

When the head scientist chick upbraids Jackman's character for mixing the two compounds to treat the chimp, saying, "NIH could shut us down"? I choked. Seriously. I mean, yeah, there are guidelines for animal testing and noncompliance can result in loss of funding, among other things.

But that lab? State of the art. So not funded by an NIH R01. Howard Hughes at a minimum, baby, if not privately run. Otherwise? Industrial biotech. Not academic, publicly-funded science. No way, no how. (Especially not when 60-70% of all proposals received at NIH -- the largest funding source for basic science research in the US -- are triaged without making it to review, and previously funded proposals' budgets are being cut by ~25%.)

I am constantly amazed by the gap between how people think science gets done and the reality of it. Like on CSI, when a tech grinds up an insect or something and shoots the contents of the mortar on a GC and *pouf* a printout with a single compound is generated within ten seconds.

a) if you didn't extract that gunk, you'd ruin a $5k column
b) it's a mixture, there's no way you'd only get a single peak on the GC profile
c) to identify a single compound from a chromatogram without some other technique (like mass spec coupled to the GC) is unlikely (if not impossible, since more than one compound can have the same retention volume on a GC column) without a standard for comparison

*sigh*

Jun. 15th, 2007 10:53 am
asimplechord: (i've got you)
Are we all children here, with no common sense? )

And OK, internet users behaving badly, listen up. Saying things in comments that you wouldn't say in real life? Not on. I'm not sure why people think it's OK to be rude behind a layer of anonymity, but apparently that sort of thought is widespread.

Spoilers for SPN S3 gossip and S2 finale )

Profile

asimplechord: (Default)
asimplechord

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
1617 1819202122
23242526272829
30      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios